A short introduction

Caitlin Kindig
2 min readDec 14, 2020
Image by Author

Hi, all! My name is Cait and I recently started working as an editor at Towards Data Science. As I don’t have an active presence on Medium besides my role at TDS, I thought I’d introduce myself and my background here.

I’m currently finishing up my degree in English at McGill University, and I am a journalist and editor by training. While my academic and professional experience lies in print and digital journalism, I am especially passionate about Digital Humanities and bridging the gap between technical knowledge and social/cultural issues. I believe that making complex concepts accessible and easily digestible is extremely important, and I’m excited to help further that mission at TDS. Everyone should have accessible Data Science education and I think TDS plays a very valuable role in that effort.

In my first few months at TDS I learned a lot about data science (and really expanded my technical vocabulary)! While editing, I am especially drawn to pieces that apply a technical approach to a social or cultural phenomenon and provide a humanities-centred analysis to them.

I’m looking forward to helping grow TDS as a publication and resource for the general public, and hope that I will grow and learn along with it.

Please feel free to reach out to me via Twitter, LinkedIn, or email me at cait@towardsdatascience.com if you have any questions :)

--

--